Jan 17, 2021
JERUSALEM WEATHER

The memorial that appears at the top of the profile reads reads “Remembering … We hope people who love … will find comfort in the things others share to remember and celebrate his/her life”.

The memorial notice contains a link to submit forms to have people’s modified into online memorials after they die. Until 2007, profiles were deleted after a 30-day memorial period. Following the Virginia Tech massacre in April that year, the company changed its policy to allow memorialized profiles to remain up indefinitely.

[ubm_premium banners=433 count=1]

“For a brief period today, a message meant for memorialized profiles was mistakenly posted to other accounts,” a company spokesperson said in an email statement to the media. “This was a terrible error that we have now fixed. We are very sorry that this happened and we worked as quickly as possible to fix it.”

The social media blunder comes just a few days after Zuckerberg denied claims that fake news feeds affected the US election process.