Jan 19, 2022
JERUSALEM WEATHER

Share this article

“…when you kindle the lampss, toward the face of the Menorah shall the seven lamps cast light.” (Numbers 8:2)

France, the United Kingdom, Hungary, Ukraine, Russia, Uzbekistan, and Israel: These are the seven Jewish communities that will light the seventh candle of Hanukkah together this Tuesday evening (December 3), during an event organized by the Ministry of Immigration and Absorption and The Jewish Agency for Israel.

The main event will take place at the Menachem Begin Heritage Center in Jerusalem and will be attended by some 300 young olim (immigrants) from around the world, along with Minister of Immigration and Absorption Sofa Landver and Jewish Agency Chairman of the Executive Natan Sharansky.

The seventh candle of Hanukkah will be lit in Jerusalem by immigrants from seven Jewish communities: France, Ethiopia, the United States, Yemen, Latvia, Latin America, and the Bnei Menashe community of India. They will be accompanied by a hazzan (cantor) who is himself an immigrant from Russia.

At the same time, screens in Jerusalem will show candle-lightings from six other world capitals – Paris, France; London, UK; Moscow, Russia; Kiev, Ukraine; Tashkent, Uzbekistan; and Budapest, Hungary. The events abroad are being organized by Jewish Agency shlichim (emissaries) posted in the various Jewish communities and by representatives of the Ministry of Immigration and Absorption serving in Israeli Houses and working with Israelis who reside abroad.

The Jerusalem event will be MC’ed by Israeli television personality Leon Rosenberg and will feature Rudi Beinsin—a contestant from the highly-rated singing show The Voice who is a member of the Ethiopian Israeli community—and a choir from the Beit Zvi School for the Performing Arts.

The event will be broadcast live at https://bit.ly/BrighteningTheWorld beginning at 3:30 p.m. Israel time (1:30 p.m. GMT, 8:30 a.m. Eastern).