Aug 16, 2022
Share this article

The Israeli government approved the Health ministry’s recommendation to classify the United States, Germany, Italy, Belgium, Morocco, Hungary, Portugal, Switzerland, Canada, and Turkey as “red” countries and put them under a travel ban.
The Knesset Law and Constitution Committee still needs to approve the recommendation and will convene on Tuesday morning, several hours prior to when the restriction is meant to go into effect between Tuesday and Wednesday.
Israelis are barred from traveling to red states unless they get special permission from a state Exception Committee. Additionally, if they come back to Israel, they will be required to quarantine for at least seven days, even if they’re fully vaccinated. The first day must be spent in a covid hotel until they get the result of the PCR test taken when they land.
Those not deemed protected must stay in the hotel for seven days.
The US joins the already existing red states including the UK, Denmark, Ireland, Norway, the United Arab Emirates, Spain, Finland, Sweden, France, South Africa, and several African countries.

Israel’s borders have shut down to foreign tourists since the end of November, with just a few exceptions.